Lax, A (2020) Repository. In: Splitting the Atom, Contemporary Arts Centre CAC, Vilnius, Lithuania, 18 September - 25 October 2020.

Item Type: Exhibition
Creators: Lax, A
Abstract: This sculpture investigates the materials used in the Swedish KBS design of copper canisters proposed for burying roughly 21,500 spent fuel assemblies from the Ignalina Nuclear Power Plant. The bentonite clay would be used as a buffer for the storage of this high level waste deep in the geologic strata for a million years. As a ceramics artist working with clay, Aimee has been experimenting with the different qualities of bentonite, and how it changes in different environments over time, easily dehydrating into solid flakes. At the CAC, the circular surface of the top of a radioactive waste canister echoes the hidden circular patterns across the first floor of the building, reflecting on the massive scale of the required storage repository.
Official URL:
Date: 18 September 2020
Funders: Lithuanian Council for Culture
Event Location: Contemporary Arts Centre CAC, Vilnius, Lithuania
Additional Locations: Energy and Technology Museum, Vilnius, Lithuania
Number of Pieces: 1
Medium: copper and bentonite

Lax developed the proposal for this sculpture while undertaking the Ceramics Artist in Residence at the V&A in London, 2020.

Curators of the group exhibition 'Splitting the Atom': Ele Carpenter and Virginija Januškevičiūtė

Participating artists: Lise Autogena & Joshua Portway, Erich Berger, U. Kanad Chakrabarti, Thomson & Craighead, Jurga Daubaraitė & Jonas Žukauskas, Hector Dyer, Finger Pointing Worker, Gershom Garlngarr, Jeremiah Garlngarr, Zaccheus Garlngarr, Jehosaphat Garlngarr, Isao Hashimoto, Gabriella Hirst, Martin Howse, Kristina Inčiūraitė, Erika Kobayashi, Sandra Lahire, David Mabb, Cecile Massart, Alex Ressel & Kerri Meehan, Deimantas Narkevičius, Yelena Popova, Lisi Raskin, Nick Crowe & Ian Rawlinson, Susan Schuppli, Augustas Serapinas, Emilija Škarnulytė, Ignas Krunglevičius & Siri Harr Steinvik, Himali Singh Soin with David Soin Tappeser, Kota Takeuchi, Mark Aerial Waller, Peter Watkins, Andrew Weir.

Divisions: Bath School of Art, Film and Media
Related URLs:
Date Deposited: 25 Aug 2021 11:19
Last Modified: 25 Aug 2021 11:19
Request a change to this item or report an issue Request a change to this item or report an issue
Update item (repository staff only) Update item (repository staff only)