Fay Weldon: the new countess

Weldon, F (2014) Fay Weldon: the new countess. In: Appledore Book Festival, 26 September - 5 October 2014, St Mary’s Church, Appledore, UK.

Official URL: http://www.appledorebookfestival.co.uk/wp-content/...


A talk on the final installment in the brilliantly executed Love and Inheritance trilogy. Fay Weldon’s two sharp and witty historical novels Habits of the House and Long Live the King, introduced the aristocratic Dilbernes and life at the turn of the twentieth century. Now in the final novel of the trilogy, the year is 1905 and Isobel, the Countess, finds that money can’t solve everything. Fay Weldon’s credits as writer of fiction include classic novels like The Life and Loves of a She Devil and Growing Rich, and the pilot episode of the original TV series Upstairs Downstairs. In 2001 she was awarded a CBE for services to literature. Join Fay as she discusses the final part of this magnificent trilogy and her award-winning writing career.

Item Type: Conference or Workshop Item (Other)
Divisions: School of Writing, Publishing and the Humanities
Date Deposited: 16 Jan 2017 17:05
Last Modified: 05 Jan 2022 15:10
URI / Page ID: https://researchspace.bathspa.ac.uk/id/eprint/8865
Request a change to this item or report an issue Request a change to this item or report an issue
Update item (repository staff only) Update item (repository staff only)